12 Comments

Hi Guys! I'm thrilled to have made the cut on the directory ๐ŸŽ‰๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿฅณ In case you accidentally scrolled past me on there (how dare you ๐Ÿ˜‰) I thought I'd say hi here too! ๐Ÿ‘‹

I write random (often very opinionated) articles and observations about midlife (obviously), parenting, self-care, emotional wellbeing, human behaviour and anything that gets on my tits really ๐Ÿ˜† I also write occasional book reviews, the odd poem here and there... Oh, and children's books ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿงก

https://greatlittleinsights.substack.com/

I'm excited to find people to collaborate with on here, as I have big plans for the new year... including a podcast centred around "Guilt" - Lord knows there's enough of that going round! I'm passionate about the importance of lifting each other up and encouraging kindness, compassion and understanding. More important than ever in this crazy modern world, in which we are all trying our best to navigate! ๐Ÿ˜Š

Expand full comment

Hello Midstackers!

I have two Substacks - one called Nothing Special https://kathleenburgler.substack.com

This is my first foray into personal essay. I started it as a way to let go of perfectionism and attachment to outcome while leaning (hard!) into vulnerability. It's been both challenging and very rewarding to post something every week without fail and without expectation.

My other Substack is called Forge Your Path https://kburglercdc.substack.com .

Here I write about my work as a divorce coach, offer insights and tools for people navigating end-of-marriage issues, and highlight aspects of my workbook (also called Forge Your Path).

Expand full comment
Sep 18Liked by Jessica Smock

Hello friends! I started A Good Vintage (https://goodvintage.substack.com/) as a place to share my love of all things French. It includes travel adventures, personal essays, and interviews with inspiring expat women of a certain age. Plus, I share the journey my husband and I are taking to make our dream of living in France come true.

Expand full comment

Hi there, Midstackers! I started my Substack, Paying Attention: A New Mindfulness Method, a few months ago and am amazed and thrilled to have eight paid subscribers among my overall 70 subscribers. (So nice!) I started with the goal of trying to reflect on everything I consumed. We're all drowning in content -- to the point that we can hardly absorb everything we see and read. I wanted to make myself slow down and pay attention. Then my mom attempted suicide so now I'm writing about that, too.

Expand full comment

Hi Midstackers! I've had a newsletter for years, but just moved it over to Substack last week. I share mindset strategies, reflections, and links to relevant articles to help women detach their worth from their weight, and to ultimately, improve their relationship with food and exercise so they have more brain space and energy to share their gifts and enjoy their lives more fully. https://pammoore.substack.com/

Expand full comment
Sep 21Liked by Jessica Smock

Good morning. I am Anne and I write about my life as a future widow. Sometimes broadly, sometimes with specificity. https://thefuturewidow.substack.com/ Join me as I explore grief and loss, and love, and laughter.

Expand full comment
Sep 21Liked by Jessica Smock

Well, hello Midstackers! ๐ŸŒป

My name is Daphne and I live in Toronto.

I write about secular spirituality, enlightened substance use, personal development, conscious parenting, and everyday magic. ๐Ÿง™

I write for mid-life people who are trying to model healthy choices for their kids and ease their parentsโ€™ end-of-life experiences.

My goal is to start meaningful conversations about enlightened use of substances, conscious death, and evolving family dynamics as our attitudes about these important subjects change.

I think of myself as a friend who makes it possible to speak openly about subjects we normally shut down, especially in multi-generational family conversations.

Looking forward to meeting other mid-lifers with energy to make shit happen in the world! I know that every one of you feels strongly about something, or you wouldnโ€™t be here. Canโ€™t wait to learn from you all.

Expand full comment

Good morning, Midstackers! Although I'm 57, I have yet to write about midlife issues, but it's a topic that interests me naturally because that's where I find myself!

I write about thinking, living, connecting to the divine beyond religion, and using creative expression as a spiritual practice. https://substack.com/@revevelynb

My goal is to build community and support those deconstructing their faith and exploring contemplative, creative practice.

I look forward to reading your stories and meeting other midlife writers.

Expand full comment

Hello Midstackers! What a great group to fall into! I have just started my Substack about the intersection of personal flourishing and public speaking (tips for public speaking that boost the soul too!)-- and I'm recently embracing my new mid-life identity which is both thrilling and disorienting so I'm thrilled to be connected here.

https://julieavisrogers.substack.com

Expand full comment

Hi! I've sort of accidentally landed on Substack a few months ago and have LOVED setting up my Career Freedom newsletter here, which brings together ALL the content that was spread over my LinkedIn newsletter, blogs, community content AND a separate email newsletter (I KNOW!).

In this ONE weekly newsletter I focus on ONE topic to help mid-career (life) women get UN-stuck and create a career they love. Topics I end up writing about include (yes) careers and career change, but also women @ work, (the importance of) creativity, how the brain works, the occasional post (read: rant ๐Ÿ™„) about culture, business and leadership. Oh, and I talk about books (I love books) and do the occasional doodle too.

https://tineketammes.substack.com/

Now I'm getting settled here I'm starting to look up and out and finding out what ELSE I can do to support women who feel unhappy and stuck at work. So thank you and looking forward to meeting you all!

Expand full comment

Hi all! I write from a very middle aged mom perspective and apply my training in Women's and Gender studies to our state and local politics around healthcare, education, rights and elections here in South Carolina. I call it Hot Feminism: https://emilytaylor.substack.com/

Expand full comment

Hello Midstackers!

I have two Substacks - The one I consider my work, the one I nurture, is Growing Hearths: https://sarahkmongrowinghearths.substack.com/ which is a niche narrative/information parenting blog about raising children and growing community through the principles of Nonviolent Communication.

I write this mostly for parents, but there are many people without kids who tell me they apply what I write to their lives.

Goal for Growing Hearths was to be a resource for people looking to change the paradigm in their homes and communities, from power over to power with, from obedience to connection and respect, building a home where, in their bones, children know they matter, they belong, they are seen, heard and understood.

Writing in the last six months has been seldom due to chemo and wellness etc, and also because I haven't been inspired by my own parenting. Now that I have a bit more couch time with some energy, I'm back at it.

The second is Come on Kmon: https://comeonkmon.substack.com/ where I update friends/family about my latest news in cancer. I am three and a half years in. Maybe less than a year to go.

Expand full comment